Skip to main content
Welcome to the new website. For first time login instructions click here.

AusIMM Awards

AusIMM Awards

Recognising excellence

For more than 80 years, AusIMM has proudly celebrated members who have made valuable contributions and shown outstanding leadership within the resources sector. The AusIMM Awards recognise the achievements, professional excellence and leadership of many of our talented members working in the mining industry. The annual awards program is an important platform to recognise excellence across a range of categories.

AusIMM is committed to increasing diversity in the industry and welcomes nominations from all professionals regardless of discipline or background.


2021 AusIMM Award recipients

We are delighted to congratulate the recipients of the 2021 AusIMM Awards. Each recipient has made a meaningful contribution to best practice in our sector, and we are proud to celebrate their achievements.

Award category 1: Highest Honours

Our highest honour awards recognise outstanding senior or high-level service.

Institute Medal

Recognises eminent leadership in the resources sector or AusIMM. The highest honour conferred by AusIMM.

President’s Award

Recognises notable contribution to AusIMM or the resources sector.

Honorary Fellowship

Recognises exceptional achievement, service or contribution to the resources sector.

Beryl Jacka Award

Recognises extraordinary and sustained service to AusIMM.

Award category 2: Professional excellence

We celebrate those who achieve professional excellence.

Professional Excellence Awards (3)

Recognise significant contributions to the development of professional knowledge.

New Professional Award

Recognises the contribution by a new professional to the resources sector.

Technical Paper Awards (2)

Recognise technical excellence in published papers.

Award category 3: Outstanding service

We also celebrate outstanding service to AusIMM or the resources sector by AusIMM members (either as individuals or a group).

Institute or Resource Sector Awards (3)

Recognise consistent and significant service by AusIMM members.

AusIMM Awards criteria and guidelines

Nominations for AusIMM Awards are opening soon

I am very honoured to receive this award for my contribution. AusIMM has shaped my career, developed my leadership, and allowed me to contribute to upholding standards. Most of all, it’s my community, my mining family.’

Kate Sommerville

Kate Sommerville FAusIMM(CP)

Institute or Resources Sector Service Award Recipient 2020

Past AusIMM Award recipients

Watch the video of our online 2020 Awards Ceremony below, or see the full list of past AusIMM Award Winners.

AusIMM Awards Ceremony 2020

Our site uses cookies

We use these to improve your browser experience. By continuing to use the website you agree to the use of cookies.