Skip to main content

Epiroc Scholarship

Epiroc Scholarship

Epiroc Scholarship

The Epiroc Scholarship provides an outstanding opportunity to experience Epiroc’s contribution to the resources sector in Australia and around the world.

In 2021 the Epiroc Scholarship reached a remarkable milestone: 50 continuous years of providing valuable, industry-based experiences and support to Australasia’s emerging mining professionals.

The 2021 recipient will receive:
• $2,000 bursary towards 2022 university fees, equipment or resources
• Tour of Epiroc site at Kalgoorlie and / or Boddington
• Tour of Epiroc Perth workshop
• Up to two weeks of paid work experience with Epiroc

Note: Travel for the winner within Western Australia will be arranged once it is safe to do so mindful of any COVID-19 restrictions and the health and wellbeing of participants.


The scholarship is open to AusIMM Student Members currently studying at a university in Western Australia. 

To apply you must be:
• A current AusIMM Student member
• Studying and living in Western Australia
• In the final year of a university degree studying:
- Mechatronics
- Mechanical Engineering
- Software Engineering / Computer Science
- Mining Engineering, or
- Mathematics

For any questions please contact Monique Talarico, Manager, Relationships


2021 Epiroc Scholarship Applications have now closed

2021 recipient - Lauren Harding

Lauren Harding is a student at the University of Western Australia in her final year of a Bachelor of Science, on track to complete a major in engineering, specialising in both the mechanical and mining disciplines. She will be completing vacation work over the summer of 2021/2022 with Barminco at the underground Nova mine with a goal of acquiring a first class mine managers certificate in the future.

Whilst studying, she has worked for the Gifted and Talented Children’s Association, instructing courses for children engaging them in principles of STEM such as robotics, chemistry and physics, as well as Teamwork’s Development Australia, educating on the fundamental tools for cohesive and safe teamwork in the classroom and office. She is engaged on campus through participating in mining games competitions and most recently, has been elected as the 2022 media coordinator for the AusIMM UWA student chapter.

Lauren’s attitude is focused around the idea that a project’s means is as important as it’s outcome. Innovation that increases efficiency without losing focus on sustainability is critical to match the increasing demands on the resources sector without damaging the integrity of access for future generations.

Past recipients

  • 2020: Josephine Liantono, Bachelor of Science in Economics and Mining Engineering, University of Western Australia
  • 2019: Marten Hunt, Bachelor or Mining Engineering, University of Wollongong
  • 2018: Not awarded
  • 2017: Emma Guerini, Bachelor of Mining Engineering and Geology, University of Western Australia
  • 2016: Ashleigh Walsh, Bachelor of Engineering (Mining) (Honours), University of Adelaide
  • 2015: Rahel Abebe, Bachelor of Mining Engineering (Honours), Federation University – view paper.
  • 2014: Russell Brooks, Bachelor of Engineering (Mining), University of Adelaide – view paper.
  • 2013: Emma Beattie, Bachelor of Geology, James Cook University – view paper
  • 2012: Christopher Brunero, Bachelor of Engineering (Mining and Environmental) (Honours) (Deans Scholar), University of Wollongong – view paper.
  • 2011: Kathryn Serjeantson, Bachelor of Mining Engineering, University of New South Wales – view paper.
  • 2010: Nathan Campbell, Bachelor of Mining Engineering, Curtin University (WASM) – view paper.
  • 2009: Michael Webb-Martin, Bachelor of Mining Engineering and Finance, Curtin University (WASM) – view paper.
  • 2008: Kiri Bunker, Bachelor of Mining Engineering, University of New South Wales – view paper.
  • 2007: Megan Clasberg, Bachelor of Mining Engineering, University of New South Wales – view paper.
  • 2006: Jack MacDiarmid, Bachelor of Mining Engineering, University of Queensland – view paper.


Our site uses cookies

We use these to improve your browser experience. By continuing to use the website you agree to the use of cookies.