Skip to main content

Sir Frank Espie/Rio Tinto Leadership Award Winners Announced

· 405 words, 1 minute read

AusIMM takes pride in fostering the future of mining professionals through its Education Endowment Fund (EEF) Scholarship

Since 1989, the Education Endowment Fund Board of Trustees has provided scholarships for undergraduate and postgraduate students, offering financial assistance and exemplary professional development opportunities. This support helps students with Australian residency to complete their studies and embark on a successful career in the mining industry.

2024 Recipients headed to Tasmania

As part of the scholarship, the postgraduate students attend an annual field trip. This year, the 2024 EEF recipients visited Tasmania, the itinerary including hosted tours on various sites and operations on the West Coast and a visit to TasPort and TasRail's Port Operations in Burnie, where they gained first-hand experience at the handling and transportation of mineral and forestry products. This visit provided practical insights and a better understanding of the industry the students are preparing to join.

Pictured left to right: Dale Sims, EEF Field Trip Facilitator, Francis (Frank Burt) – joint SFE/Rio Winner, Ashley Potter – joint SFE/Rio Winner, Paul Espie AO, EEF Trustee, Jared Osborne, Chair, EEF Board, Lachlan Cumming, 2012 SFE/Rio Winner 2012, and Susie Corlett, EEF Trustee

Sir Frank Espie/Rio Tinto Leadership Award Dinner

The highlight of the 2024 EEF Annual Field Trip was a celebratory dinner where our scholarship holders celebrated emerging leadership in the mining industry. During the dinner, the prestigious Sir Frank Espie/Rio Tinto Leadership Award were announced.

Jointly sponsored by Rio Tinto and the Espie family, and named after Sir Frank Espie, this annual award recognises and supports students who demonstrate expecptional potential as future industry leaders.    

Announcing the 2024 Winners 

Congratulations to this years recipients of the Sir Frank Espie/Rio Tinto Leadership Award: Francis Burt and Ashley Potter. These outstanding students have shown remarkable dedication and promise in their academic and professional pursuits.

We look forward to their future contributions to the mining industry.

Francis Burt – Committee Member, AusIMM Kalgoorlie Student Chapter
Curtin University – Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Mining)

Francis (or ‘Frank’) initially began studies in Civil Engineering and Business Management in 2020, before a persistent friend convinced him to make the switch to Mining in 2021, and he hasn’t looked back. Frank is currently in his final year of studies at the Western Australian School of Mines (WASM) and is loving the unique experiences of life in Kalgoorlie.

Ashley Potter – President, AusIMM Sydney Student Chapter
University of New South Wales – Bachelor of Engineering (Honours)(Mining)

Ashley was initially drawn to a career in the mining industry by the opportunity to solve complex engineering problems while applying technical knowledge in a hands-on, dynamic environment. Ashley has recently completed the second year of Mining Engineering (Honours) at UNSW, and has been involved with the AusIMM since the beginning of 2022.

The 2025 Education Endowment Fund Scholarship will begin taking applications from Monday, 29 July 2024. If you would like to be notified when application open or to learn more, please subscribe to our EEF Newsletter here

Our site uses cookies

We use these to improve your browser experience. By continuing to use the website you agree to the use of cookies.