Skip to main content
AusIMM Awards

Highest Honours

AusIMM Awards

Highest Honours

These awards recognise outstanding senior or high-level service in the resources sector or AusIMM.

Institute Medal

The Institute Medal is the most prestigious award and highest honour conferred by AusIMM. It may be awarded to anyone in recognition of eminent leadership of AusIMM or the resources sector. 

Pictured: 2023 Institute Medal recipient Louis Rozman with AusIMM CEO Stephen Durkin. 

President's Award

The President’s Award may be presented to any senior and influential professional who has made a notable contribution to, or achievement within, AusIMM or the resources sector in a specific sphere of activity. This Award is bestowed by the AusIMM President. 

Pictured: 2023 President's Award recipient Deborah Lord (second from right).

Honorary Fellowship

Honorary Fellowship may be conferred on any senior and influential professional who has performed notable, active and sustained service to AusIMM or made a major contribution to the resources sector.

Pictured: 2023 Honorary Fellowship recipient John Murray. 

Beryl Jacka Award

This award is named in honour of Beryl Jacka, a stalwart of AusIMM over a period of 40+ years including as Secretary. This award may only be presented to an AusIMM member who has demonstrated extraordinary and sustained service to AusIMM.

Pictured: 2023 Beryl Jacka recipient Paul Harper.

Award guidelines

Please read the guidelines before submitting your nomination.
  • Nominations for Awards close on 30 June each year. This includes the original nomination, plus endorsement from referee(s).
  • All AusIMM members are eligible to nominate and be nominated for one or more Awards.
  • AusIMM members may nominate non-members for all Awards except the Beryl Jacka Award, which is only open to AusIMM members.
  • Nominations are to be made online using the form.
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted.
  • The nominator must be an AusIMM member; referees preferably so.
  • All nominations are strictly confidential, and it is a requirement that nominees are not informed of their nomination.
  • AusIMM is committed to increasing diversity in the industry and welcomes nominations from all professionals, regardless of discipline or background.
  • It is expected that nominators and/or referees will likely have professional or personal relationships with the nominee. Nominators and referees are asked to describe their relationship with the nominee for the sake of transparency.  
  • The AusIMM Awards Committee will be responsible for the Highest Honours (3 Awards) and Leadership Awards (3).
  • The President's Award will be bestowed by the President. The Awards Committee and AusIMM Board will assist with nominations and potential candidates. The final selection will be made in consultation with the Awards Committee.
  • AusIMM Societies will oversee the Professional Excellence Awards, consisting of six categories representing each Society's focus. Awards Panels will be established within each Society to review nominations and make recommendations. These selections will then be approved in consultation with the Awards Committee. 
  • If required, a request for more information may be sent to the nominator and/or referee(s).
  • No name or names of people other than those recommended by the Awards Committee for an Award shall be reported to the Board.
  • The Awards Committee may exercise discretion in awarding more or fewer than the Awards noted in each category in any year. This includes the option of no Awards in any category.
  • All unsuccessful nominations shall be reviewed at the beginning of the following year’s process and may be retained for further consideration.
  • Awards will be presented at the annual AusIMM Awards Dinner, usually held in conjunction with the annual AusIMM Congress. In 2024, the AusIMM Awards Dinner will be held in Perth on Friday 18 October.

Our site uses cookies

We use these to improve your browser experience. By continuing to use the website you agree to the use of cookies.