Skip to main content

AusIMM Awards

Nominations open

AusIMM Awards

Nominations open

Recognising excellence

Each year the AusIMM Awards recognise the outstanding professional achievements of our talented members and resources professionals.

In 2024, the AusIMM Awards program has been enhanced. See what’s new here

2024 Award Categories

The annual awards program is an important platform to recognise talented people working across all aspects of the resources industry. In 2024, there are 14 Awards under three main categories. Click on each category to find out more and begin your nomination.

 Recognising outstanding and sustained leadership and exceptional achievements.  

Recognising professional excellence within a specific discipline aligned to AusIMM Societies. 

Recognising consistent and significant contribution to the ongoing success of AusIMM or the resources sector.

Award guidelines

Please read the guidelines before submitting your nomination.
  • Nominations for Awards close on 30 June each year. This includes the original nomination, plus endorsement from referee(s).
  • All AusIMM members are eligible to nominate and be nominated for one or more Awards.
  • AusIMM members may nominate non-members for all Awards except the Beryl Jacka Award, which is only open to AusIMM members.
  • Nominations are to be made online using the form here.
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted.
  • The nominator must be an AusIMM member; referees preferably so.
  • All nominations are strictly confidential, and it is a requirement that nominees are not informed of their nomination.
  • AusIMM is committed to increasing diversity in the industry and welcomes nominations from all professionals, regardless of discipline or background.
  • It is expected that nominators and/or referees will likely have professional or personal relationships with the nominee. Nominators and referees are asked to describe their relationship with the nominee for the sake of transparency.  
  • The AusIMM Awards Committee will be responsible for the Highest Honours (3 Awards) and Leadership Awards (3).
  • The President's Award will be bestowed by the President. The Awards Committee and AusIMM Board will assist with nominations and potential candidates. The final selection will be made in consultation with the Awards Committee.
  • AusIMM Societies will oversee the Professional Excellence Awards, consisting of six categories representing each Society's focus. Awards Panels will be established within each Society to review nominations and make recommendations. These selections will then be approved in consultation with the Awards Committee. 
  • If required, a request for more information may be sent to the nominator and/or referee(s).
  • No name or names of people other than those recommended by the Awards Committee for an Award shall be reported to the Board.
  • The Awards Committee may exercise discretion in awarding more or fewer than the Awards noted in each category in any year. This includes the option of no Awards in any category.
  • All unsuccessful nominations shall be reviewed at the beginning of the following year’s process and may be retained for further consideration.
  • Awards will be presented at the annual AusIMM Awards Dinner, usually held in conjunction with the annual AusIMM Congress. In 2024, the AusIMM Awards Dinner will be held in Perth on Friday 18 October.

Nominate now!

Ready to nominate someone? Head over to our online form.

AusIMM Awards Dinner

What a night! In October 2023 we formally recognised and congratulated our 2023 AusIMM Awards recipients at our annual dinner. The dinner is a chance to bring our community together and say ‘thank you’ to some of our outstanding and inspiring members.

2023 AusIMM Award recipients

We are delighted to congratulate the recipients of the 2023 AusIMM Awards. Each recipient (such as Louis Rozman, Institute Medallist, pictured) has made a meaningful contribution to best practice in our sector, and we are proud to celebrate their achievements.

“To be recognised by our colleagues is more than simply another award or recognition, although always appreciated, it reflects an acknowledgement from those that have a deep appreciation of the challenges and complexities we confront in our professional roles. And so for me, there is no higher praise than to be acknowledged by your peers through the auspices of our peak and well respected professional organisation.”

Mark Cutifani

Institute Medal (2021)

Past AusIMM Award recipients

The AusIMM Awards have a rich history dating back more than 80 years. You can view a list of past AusIMM Award recipients here.


Our site uses cookies

We use these to improve your browser experience. By continuing to use the website you agree to the use of cookies.