Skip to main content
AusIMM Awards

Leadership Awards

AusIMM Awards

Leadership Awards

Recognising consistent and significant contribution to the ongoing success of AusIMM and/or the resources sector.  

Outstanding Leadership Award (x2)

These awards may be presented to any member or group of members. They recognise consistent and significant contribution to the ongoing success of AusIMM and/or the resources sector. This may be through building better understanding and respect either among resources sector professionals, or between those professionals and the broader community.

The contributions these awards recognise might include (but are not limited to) the operations of a Community of Interest (Branch, Society, Student Chapter, New Professionals Network; Women in Mining Network; Committee) an AusIMM event, or publication.

Pictured: 2023 Award recipient Bruce Fulton with AusIMM President Nicole Brook. 

Emerging Leader of the Year

This Award recognises the contribution by a young professional within the sector through operational, academic, service or other notable achievement.

This award may be presented to any new resources sector professional (generally aged under 30).

Pictured: 2023 Award recipient Jessica Keast (second from left) with her family.

Award guidelines

Please read the guidelines before submitting your nomination.
  • Nominations for Awards close on 30 June each year. This includes the original nomination, plus endorsement from referee(s).
  • All AusIMM members are eligible to nominate and be nominated for one or more Awards.
  • AusIMM members may nominate non-members for all Awards except the Beryl Jacka Award, which is only open to AusIMM members.
  • Nominations are to be made online using the form.
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted.
  • The nominator must be an AusIMM member; referees preferably so.
  • All nominations are strictly confidential, and it is a requirement that nominees are not informed of their nomination.
  • AusIMM is committed to increasing diversity in the industry and welcomes nominations from all professionals, regardless of discipline or background.
  • It is expected that nominators and/or referees will likely have professional or personal relationships with the nominee. Nominators and referees are asked to describe their relationship with the nominee for the sake of transparency.  
  • The AusIMM Awards Committee will be responsible for the Highest Honours (3 Awards) and Leadership Awards (3).
  • The President's Award will be bestowed by the President. The Awards Committee and AusIMM Board will assist with nominations and potential candidates. The final selection will be made in consultation with the Awards Committee.
  • AusIMM Societies will oversee the Professional Excellence Awards, consisting of six categories representing each Society's focus. Awards Panels will be established within each Society to review nominations and make recommendations. These selections will then be approved in consultation with the Awards Committee. 
  • If required, a request for more information may be sent to the nominator and/or referee(s).
  • No name or names of people other than those recommended by the Awards Committee for an Award shall be reported to the Board.
  • The Awards Committee may exercise discretion in awarding more or fewer than the Awards noted in each category in any year. This includes the option of no Awards in any category.
  • All unsuccessful nominations shall be reviewed at the beginning of the following year’s process and may be retained for further consideration.
  • Awards will be presented at the annual AusIMM Awards Dinner, usually held in conjunction with the annual AusIMM Congress. In 2024, the AusIMM Awards Dinner will be held in Perth on Friday 18 October.

Our site uses cookies

We use these to improve your browser experience. By continuing to use the website you agree to the use of cookies.