Skip to main content

AusIMM launches enhanced Awards Program for 2024

· 500 words, 2 min read

The AusIMM Board and Awards Committee are delighted to announce an enhanced AusIMM Awards Program in 2024.

The prestigious Awards Program will continue to showcase outstanding leadership from across our global community, as well as introducing new awards that highlight professional excellence in disciplines aligned to our expert technical societies.

In 2024, the three main Awards categories are: Highest Honours, Professional Excellence and Leadership Awards.

Highest Honours recognise outstanding, sustained leadership and exceptional achievements in AusIMM or the resources sector. There are four awards in this category: the Institute Medal, President's Award, Honorary Fellowship and Beryl Jacka Award.

Professional Excellence Awards recognise professional excellence for significant contributions to the development or application of professional knowledge, practice or leadership within a specific discipline aligned to AusIMM Societies.

There are six awards in this category: AusIMM Society Awards aligned to Mining, Geological, Metallurgical, Social and Environment, Health and Safety and Consultants.

These Awards may be presented to professionals at any career stage, of any discipline, who have made a worthy contribution to their own or any other discipline.

Leadership Awards recognise consistent and significant contribution to the ongoing success of AusIMM and/or the resources sector. There are three Awards in this category: Outstanding Leadership Award (x2) and Emerging Leader of the Year.

The Leadership awards may be awarded to an individual or group of members who have demonstrated commitment to building better understanding and respect either among resources sector professionals, or between those professionals and the broader community. The contributions these awards recognise might include (but are not limited to) the operations of an AusIMM Community of Interest.

The Emerging Leader of the Year Award recognises the contribution by a young professional within the sector through operational, academic, service or other notable achievement.

The nomination and awards process

Nominations for the AusIMM Awards are now open and close on 30 June. Nomination criteria, guidelines and the nomination form are available here on the AusIMM website.

Members are encouraged to consider who in their network would be a worthy candidate for these various categories and to nominate as many people as they want. Nominees may be members or non-members for all Awards except the Beryl Jacka Award, for which the recipient must be a member. The nomination process is straightforward and takes approximately 15 minutes to submit online.

All nominations are reviewed by the AusIMM Awards Committee. All nominations and materials relating to award candidates are handled in the strictest confidence.

This year’s Awards Dinner will be held in Perth on Friday 18 October.

Our site uses cookies

We use these to improve your browser experience. By continuing to use the website you agree to the use of cookies.