Skip to main content

Epiroc Women in Mining Scholarship

Applications open : 17 August - 7 October 2022

Epiroc Women in Mining Scholarship

Applications open : 17 August - 7 October 2022

Epiroc Women in Mining Scholarship

Epiroc has a tradition of innovation dating back to 1873 and has held a strong presence in Australia since 1950. With innovation at the forefront, Epiroc and AusIMM recognise the important shift towards increasing diversity in our industry and championing emerging mining professionals. To encourage and support more women with STEM backgrounds to build a career in mining, the Epiroc Scholarship is now the Epiroc Women in Mining Scholarship.

Open to women in their final year studying technology-centred studies in Western Australia, the Epiroc Women in Mining Scholarship helps scholars find their pathway within the mining industry and establish invaluable connections.

The Epiroc Women in Mining Scholarship recipient will receive:

  • $2,000 bursary towards 2022 university fees, equipment, or resources
  • Tour of Epiroc site at Kalgoorlie and/or Boddington
  • Tour of Epiroc Perth workshop
  • Up to two weeks of paid work experience with Epiroc
  • Become an Epiroc Women in Mining ambassador, which includes:
    • 2 tickets to AusIMM’s International Women’s Day Event held in Perth, 10 March
    • Exclusive invitation to all Perth New Professional Networking events

The scholarship is open to women currently studying at a university in Western Australia. 

To apply you must be:

  • A current AusIMM Student member
  • Studying and living in Western Australia
  • In the final year of a university degree studying:
    • Mechatronics
    • Mechanical Engineering
    • Software Engineering / Computer Science
    • Mining Engineering, or
    • Mathematics

For any questions please contact Monique Talarico, Manager, Relationships


Applications now open!

Applicants must be an AusIMM Student Member

Not an AusIMM Student Member? Epiroc Women in Mining applicants can join free today, use code Student2022 at checkout

Application template

Use this template to start drafting your application. Please note all forms must be submitted through our online portal.

Why apply?

We recently sat down with Lauren Harding, recipient of the 2022 Epiroc Scholarship, where she shared with us her inspiring journey of discovering a love for innovation in the mining industry, and why you should apply to become Epiroc's next Woman in Mining Ambassador.

2021 recipient - Lauren Harding

Lauren Harding is a student at the University of Western Australia in her final year of a Bachelor of Science, on track to complete a major in engineering, specialising in both the mechanical and mining disciplines. She will be completing vacation work over the summer of 2021/2022 with Barminco at the underground Nova mine with a goal of acquiring a first class mine managers certificate in the future.

Whilst studying, she has worked for the Gifted and Talented Children’s Association, instructing courses for children engaging them in principles of STEM such as robotics, chemistry and physics, as well as Teamwork’s Development Australia, educating on the fundamental tools for cohesive and safe teamwork in the classroom and office. She is engaged on campus through participating in mining games competitions and most recently, has been elected as the 2022 media coordinator for the AusIMM UWA student chapter.

Lauren’s attitude is focused around the idea that a project’s means is as important as it’s outcome. Innovation that increases efficiency without losing focus on sustainability is critical to match the increasing demands on the resources sector without damaging the integrity of access for future generations.

Past recipients

  • 2020: Josephine Liantono, Bachelor of Science in Economics and Mining Engineering, University of Western Australia
  • 2019: Marten Hunt, Bachelor or Mining Engineering, University of Wollongong
  • 2018: Not awarded
  • 2017: Emma Guerini, Bachelor of Mining Engineering and Geology, University of Western Australia
  • 2016: Ashleigh Walsh, Bachelor of Engineering (Mining) (Honours), University of Adelaide
  • 2015: Rahel Abebe, Bachelor of Mining Engineering (Honours), Federation University – view paper.
  • 2014: Russell Brooks, Bachelor of Engineering (Mining), University of Adelaide – view paper.
  • 2013: Emma Beattie, Bachelor of Geology, James Cook University – view paper
  • 2012: Christopher Brunero, Bachelor of Engineering (Mining and Environmental) (Honours) (Deans Scholar), University of Wollongong – view paper.
  • 2011: Kathryn Serjeantson, Bachelor of Mining Engineering, University of New South Wales – view paper.
  • 2010: Nathan Campbell, Bachelor of Mining Engineering, Curtin University (WASM) – view paper.
  • 2009: Michael Webb-Martin, Bachelor of Mining Engineering and Finance, Curtin University (WASM) – view paper.
  • 2008: Kiri Bunker, Bachelor of Mining Engineering, University of New South Wales – view paper.
  • 2007: Megan Clasberg, Bachelor of Mining Engineering, University of New South Wales – view paper.
  • 2006: Jack MacDiarmid, Bachelor of Mining Engineering, University of Queensland – view paper.


Register your interest in the Epiroc Women in Mining Scholarship

Our site uses cookies

We use these to improve your browser experience. By continuing to use the website you agree to the use of cookies.